Reaching out to the world with God's amazing grace



Location: One fourth the size of the United States and strategically located in Central Africa, the DRC shares borders with eight countries including: Angola, Burundi, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.


1. With a population of 69 million, the DRC is a young country where 50% of the population is under the age of 14.

2. Over 200 African ethnic groups live in the DRC. The four largest tribes – Mongo, Luba, Kongo—all of which are Bantu—and the Mangbetu-Azande (Hamitic tribe) make up about 45% of the population.

3. French is the DRC’s official language. Lingala, a Bantu language, is also used as a trade language, as well as Swahili and Kingwana, a dialect of Kiswahili and Swahili. In remote villages, other tribal languages are also spoken.

4. Given that Belgium ruled the Congo for over half-a-century, it is not surprising that over 50% of the population consider themselves Catholic. Another 20% are classified as Protestants, while 10% are Muslim.